h1

How are accountants perceived?

June 9, 2008

I feel as though many believe that accountants are boring.  I didn’t just wake up one day and make this up.  Through movies, tv shows and personal experience I learned that others, not related to the field, think it’s boring.

There was a scene in The Break-up.  Jennifer Aniston goes on a date with an accountant (he drove a Porsche) and the writers made this guy seem like such a geek.  He had a terrible personality.  I feel as though there is a secret stereotype going around about accountants.  Why do people think this field is so boring?

 Aren’t other fields stereotyped?  I bet some doctors and lawyers are boring people.  I think it all stems down to one reason.  People believe that numbers are boring therefore the people who use them everyday have to be boring.

One comment

  1. This is very similar to a post I wrote on my blog, yeah I think in every profession theres always going to be a stereotype and this is partly due to how they are portrayed in the media. I for one don’t think accountant’s are boring.



Leave a Reply

